Punch In FAQ


Can I manually add or remove time from a project?
Absolutely! Whilst in project view, simply double click a project's time under the 'Total Time' column and key in your desired time.

Can I view all of a project's start/stop entries?
Yes, by opening the log. 'View > Session Log' (CMD+L).

Is it possible to view combined times and earnings for multiple projects?
Yes, this can easily be achieved by CMD/SHIFT selecting the projects you wish to view. The combined times and earnings will then be shown in the window header.

Can I import my projects' data into Excel or Numbers?
Yes. Select the project/s you wish to export and choose 'File > Export' (CMD+E). If you would like to have sessions included then be sure to check the 'Include sessions' option located at the bottom of the export dialog window.

I'm worried about my data, is it possible to backup Punch In?
Yes. Simply choose 'File > Backup Database' (CMD+B) and save to your preferred location.

How do I restore a backup?
'File > Restore Backup' (CMD+R), then locate your backup file.

How do I print?
Unfortunately it is not currently possible to print from within Punch In. We suggest that if you need to print then the best way would be to export your data and open in a program such as Excel or Numbers and print from there.

Can I edit sessions?
Notes in sessions can be edited. Start and stop points cannot be edited at this time.

How do I add a note?
Simply double click on the ‘Notes’ column on the project line where you want to add a note.

How do I setup Dropbox syncing?
To use Dropbox on your Mac and sync your Punch In data, follow these directions:

  1. Ensure that the the Dropbox app is installed and running on your computer. If you do not yet have the Dropbox app, download and install it.
  2. Open Punch In’s preferences (CMD+,) and click on the ‘Link’ button. Your default web browser will take you to the Dropbox website asking you to connect Punch In with your Dropbox.
  3. Click ‘Allow’ and you are done!

Can I start a project without adding a Client?
Sure! After adding a new project simply click cancel when the client option appears.

Still need help?
If you are unable to find an answer to your question here, please feel free to contact us or ping us @wearekidpilot on Twitter. We'll get back to you as soon as possible.

Home